Things I Didn’t Think About Before I Got My Own Place

Recently, actually it was just about a month ago, I moved into my very first big kid apartment by myself! Of course it’s exciting, but it’s a lot different than I anticipated. There are tons of things I didn’t even think about before I moved here. Not all necessarily bad things, but not all good things for sure!

  • Toilet paper doesn’t buy itself

    Okay, so I never thought that toilet paper just magically appeared in my bathroom. I’m not that naive. The thing is, when I lived with other people they’d let me use some of theirs if I ran out. If I run out now I’m on my own! Yikes. Luckily I’ve been good about not letting myself completely run out.

 

  • You don’t have to wear pants

    This is honestly the best part of living by myself so far. I don’t know if that makes me a sad person… The freedom to walk around your own place without pants and not have to worry about your roommate, parents, or siblings just strolling on in is underrated, and absolutely wonderful.

 

  • You don’t have to ask permission to have guests

    When you live with someone else, out of courtesy you should make sure it’s okay with them before inviting people over. It’s not always an issue of whose in charge, but it’s nice to give them a heads up if you’re roommates. If you’re not roommates but you’re living in their home (parents, for example) it is a matter of asking  for permission. Anywhoooo when you live on your own you don’t have to ask anyone! You’re the boss!

 

  • It’s SO quiet

    Living on your own is quiet. I realized it was going to be quiet but I didn’t realize that it was going to be SOOOO quiet. I don’t have any pets, and I’m not the kind of person that watches much TV. There’s not really any noise except the occasional footsteps down the hall outside of my door, or the people who work at the restaurant next door walking by. It’s peaceful and lonely all at the same time.

 

What are some things you didn’t think about before you moved out on your own? I’d love to hear!

Pinterest Image Things I Didn't TABIGMOP.png

Leave a Reply

