6 Carry-on Essentials

I enjoy travelling. Though I’ve been to more places than a lot of people, there are so many more places I’d love to visit. It’s amazing to be able to experience different cultures.

Pinterest Image 6 carry on essentials.png

Anywhere I fly to, I have the same list of essentials to pack in my carry-on bag. These things are necessary for me to have a good flight.

1. Empty water bottle

They won’t let you take a full water bottle through airport security, but they’ll let you take an empty one. You can fill it up at the water fountains once you’re past the security checkpoint. It’s a good idea if you don’t want to pay airport prices for bottled water. Plus, staying hydrated is always good.

2. Travel Pillow

Regardless of whether or not you plan on sleeping on your flight, I’d bring a travel pillow. The seats are usually uncomfortable and the pillows they provide (if they even provide one) are flat and they suck. Bring your own pillow to enhance comfort during your flight… especially if it’s a long flight.

3. Something to Read

If you’re lucky, the plane you’re on might have magazines in the seat-back pockets. If not, and you didn’t bring something to read (or something else to do), you’re going to be bored. Usually airplane wifi doesn’t work so you won’t be able to mindlessly browse the internet. Bring a book or magazine to keep you occupied during your flight. On my last trip I ended up reading the entire book I brought during the flight over, and didn’t have anything to read on the flight home, *sigh*.

4. Headphones

You don’t like reading? That’s fine. Listening to music is always an option, but make sure you don’t forget your headphones! In my experience, the airline will provide headphones a lot of the time. The issue with those is they aren’t good quality and they hurt my ears. Also, now that apple doesn’t have a headphone jack, I can’t use those ones anyways.

5. Hand Sanitizer

Germs. Germs everywhere. Bring some hand sanitizer, and sanitize your hands often. You have no idea who else put their hands on that escalator railing, who sat in that seat before you, who touched that bathroom stall door handle, etc. You get the idea. Airports are full of germs. Keep yourself as clean as possible.

6. Ibuprofen

Better to have this and not need it, than to need it and not have it. There was one trip where I got such an awful headache that I started throwing up. I had never been sick on a plane before, and I honestly think if I had had some ibuprofen to take when my headache started, that it wouldn’t have been an issue. If you decide to buy some at the airport it’s going to cost you an arm and a leg. I believe I paid $12.99 for a packet that had 6 ibuprofen tablets inside. I can buy a bottle of 500 tablets at WalMart for under $10.

Leave a Reply

