Beauty Favorites: April 2017

I’m not a professional makeup artist, but man do I love makeup. Most of the things I’ve learned have come from watching Youtube videos (how to contour, how to fill my eyebrows, how to apply mascara the right way, etc.). I use a variety of drugstore brand makeups and more high end brands.

Pinterest Image april 2017 beauty faves

This month’s favorites happen to all be more high end. I don’t always splurge on the pricier stuff but sometimes I like to. Here’s a list of my April 2017 Beauty Faves.

1. Philosophy Renewed Hope in a Jar moisturizer 

I was having a really hard time finding a good moisturizer. I needed something that was going to stop the dry patches on my face from being an issue without makeup the rest of my face appear oily. THIS is the holy grail of face moisturizers. I have never tried anything like it. It doesn’t feel heavy on my face and you don’t need to use a lot of it to hydrate your skin. So far this is the best moisturizer I’ve tried.

2. Urban Decay Quick Fix hydra-charged complexion prep spray

Okay, not going to lie, I bought this solely because it smells like coconuts. I had already picked up a new primer (listed below), and I honestly didn’t want another spray primer because the one I used before didn’t work well for me, but this works well in combination with the other products I use. In my daily routine I’ve been using it after my moisturizer but before my foundation primer. It helps lock in moisture and keep my face hydrated throughout the day. Plus, did I mention it smells like coconuts?!

3. Smashbox Photo Finish hydrating foundation primer

Before I tried this I was using the Smashbox Photo Finish primer water spray. The spray works okay for me but I wanted something more hydrating, so I figured I would try this. It’s the same brand so I figured it would be just as good ,if not better, than the spray. I like it because it feels light on my skin and you don’t have to use a lot. It spreads easily, and honestly keeps my skin feeling soft and hydrated all day. When I apply foundation on top of it, it goes on effortlessly and looks so smooth.

4.  Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade

Previously I was using the Anastasia Brow Wiz, which is one of those twist up pencils with the very thin point. I liked it, it worked well and my eyebrows were always on point, but it wasn’t waterproof. This is waterproof, which is fantastic. Another great thing about this is I’ve been using it for almost a month and have barely made a dent. It’s going to last a long time even though I fill in my eyebrows almost every day of the week. When using the Brow Wiz pencil I would go through about one per month, which is crazy because the Dipbrow Pomade is the same price and is going to last a lot longer.

5. Urban Decay Chill Makeup Setting Spray

THIS is the best setting spray I’ve ever used. It isn’t a new find, I’ve been using it for about a year now. It keeps my makeup in place and looking fresh all throughout the day. It’s also cooling and hydrating, which is nice since my face can get a little dry.

Leave a Reply

